New York in Bullet Points 2: The Winter Soldier

Bright Lights! Roaring Crowds! Pretzels as big as a Schoolboy’s head! Yes, I am still in New York. Yes, I am over my jet lag. No, I won’t bore you with the minutiae of my day but instead will provide you with the salient points. Because you are a busy person, and I respect that. 


-It rained. Rain in New York is remarkably similar to rain in the United Kingdom. 

-Because it was raining, my travelling companions and I spent the morning at the Rockefeller Center (seen above in the photo I copied off Google Images-iCloud photo sharing is still refusing to work.) We went up to the top of the building and I took many pictures that I cannot show you at this time because of iCloud bloody photo bloody sharing.

-We also went to Trump Tower, which like the Businessman from whom it takes its name, is big, gaudy, oddly empty, and has not been renovated since the eighties. It also has a Starbucks. This is not a special achievement. Everywhere in New York has a Starbucks. 

-If you find yourself in New York on a Sunday, why not attend Mass at St. Patrick’s Cathedral? I didn’t, I know too many Monty Python jokes to sit through an entire church service. You should tell me what it’s like. Get writing!

-Central Park is basically a forest in the middle of a city, and once the weather started behaving itself it was a great place to walk around in. But then it started to rain again, so….

-Tomorrow is an Open Topped Bus Tour of the entire city. Anything to stop that guy with the leaflets following me around.

Leave a comment